Facts about Belize


Belize is a country on the northeastern coast of Central America. Originally part of the British Empire, Belize was previously called British Honduras from 1862 to 1973 and became independent in 1982 retaining Queen Elizabeth II as head of state. It is the only country in Central America that has English as the official language, although there are 8 recognized regional languages, English Creole and Spanish are more commonly spoken. Belize has a population over 330,000 inhabitants and is a culturally diversified country with numerous ethnic groups. Belize was also home to the Maya civilization and is an archaeological dream with many ancient sites to visit and the majority is yet to be discovered.

Waving flag of Belize
map of belize

Geography & Climate


Belize is bordered on the north by Mexico, to the south and west by Guatemala, and to the east by the Caribbean Sea and is divided into 6 districts; Corozal, Belize, Orange Walk, Cayo, Stann Creek and Toledo district.


Belize has a tropical climate with a rainy  and a dry season. Average temperatures range from 24 Celcius (75.2 F) in January to 28 Celcius (82.4 F) in July. The dry season takes place from November to may while the rainy season is from June to October. There is also the little dry season known as the "Mauga" season which appears in the month of August and is characterized by a marked decrease of rainfalls. It is a good time of the year to visit Belize on a budget.